Monday, October 13, 2014

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Well it's been a pretty good reading week for me. I finished and reviewed The Unknown Bridesmaid, which will be a favorite of the year for sure.  Both of my current books are set in London, one in the 80s and one in the present day. It's one of my favorite cities and I always enjoy going there through books.
I'm close to finishing Zadie Smith's modern classic White Teeth, which I'm thinking should be required reading somewhere. Very much in the vein of The Buddha of Suburbia, Smith creates a fascinating work about modern day English life. Its prose is something you can just sink into.

I also started Eleven Days, by Stav Sherez, the followup to A Dark Redemption, one of my favorite recent crime novels. It's the second in the Carrigan/Miller series and so far it's great, about gruesome murders at a London convent.  British-mystery buffs need to tune into this great talent in the crime genre.

That's it! I'm just reading the two right now but that's plenty. See more at


Laurie C said...

I didn't know you moved to NYC! I thought I put White Teeth on my TBR Pile Challenge list this year, but I see I didn't. (I haven't looked at my list much, as usual!) I'm reading mysteries and horror for work projects this month, and finishing an ARC of Jam! on the Vine by LaShonda Katrice Barnett for review today.

Mystica said...

Eleven Days sounds so much me. Will be keeping an eye out for this one.

Sandy Nawrot said...

I missed your review of The Unknown Bridesmaid, so I went back and read it. You know that when you say a book will be one of your favorites, I have to pay attention. It sounds totally compelling, so I'm going to head off to the library website right now and see if they have it.