Monday, October 13, 2014

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Well it's been a pretty good reading week for me. I finished and reviewed The Unknown Bridesmaid, which will be a favorite of the year for sure.  Both of my current books are set in London, one in the 80s and one in the present day. It's one of my favorite cities and I always enjoy going there through books.
I'm close to finishing Zadie Smith's modern classic White Teeth, which I'm thinking should be required reading somewhere. Very much in the vein of The Buddha of Suburbia, Smith creates a fascinating work about modern day English life. Its prose is something you can just sink into.

I also started Eleven Days, by Stav Sherez, the followup to A Dark Redemption, one of my favorite recent crime novels. It's the second in the Carrigan/Miller series and so far it's great, about gruesome murders at a London convent.  British-mystery buffs need to tune into this great talent in the crime genre.

That's it! I'm just reading the two right now but that's plenty. See more at BookJourney.wordpress.com.